Kovan 209 Market & Food centre: 龙香后港海南咖喱饭’s Hainanese Curry Rice and 炒福建虾面’s Hokkien Mee

I have heard from my sister that the food at Kovan 209 is not bad and wanted to try but never had the chance. Today, I was at Kovan and decided I should to try the famous 龙香’s Hainanese Curry Rice.

I have heard that the queue can snake to the other end of the hawker centre for this Hainanese dish!

The store like most 菜饭 (Mixed Vegetables) stores, offers a variety of dishes. Once you select the dishes your want, the aunty will douse the Hainanese Curry on your rice. You can ask the aunty for other gravies like 卤汁 (pork sauce),chicken curry etc. I asked for chicken curry and Hainanese Curry. The Hainanese Curry is quite similar to Japanese Curry in terms of the sweetness and non-spicy  characteristics. The chicken curry on the other hand is thicker, spicier, and has the strong chicken flavour . The aunty added another dark sauce to the Hainanese Curry which I think might be 卤汁.  I ordered 茄子 (Brinjal), 长豆 (Long Bean), 猪扒 (Pork Chop).

20160317_201137

I feel there’s is nothing special about Hainanese Curry Rice. It’s fundamentally rice and 料 soaked in curry.

Just look at the curry soaked rice below: (Halfway through eating, I got too overwhelmed by the curry taste)

20160317_202055.jpg

I would recommend this to anyone with 重口味. This costs $4.

Next, I tried the Hokkien Mee from 炒福建虾面. And, it’s surprisingly good. It has the authentic Hokkien Mee taste. I feel that it tastes better than the Old Airport Road one. (Personal Preference)

20160313_170129

I would recommend this to anyone who likes Hokkien Mee or Char Kway Teow. This plate costs $4. They also sell Char Kway Teow and Fried Carrot Cake. I will definitely be back to try the other dishes from this store.

I urged all foodies to come to Kovan 209 for a gastronomical experience. It was certainly a “mouth” opener!

Leave a comment